Team La Dofina wins again – the 
5th consecutive Tortugas title

The Tortugas Open final took place on a sunny Saturday on Palermo’s ground 1. After bad weather cancelled the semifinals, the AAP and the Tortugas organisation agreed to
end the tournament on the scheduled date. Around seven thousand people turned up
to support the best polo in the world. After an even first chukker, La Dolfina out- played and outscored Ellerstina from the second chukker onwards. They scored at every single opportunity, while Ellerstina failed to do the same. La Dofina stuck to their game plan, and once again showed that there is great understanding between all four players. As always, Milo Fernández Araujo – La Dofina’s fifth player, as Cambiaso calls him – was a big part of the success. The final score (12-5) proves that La Dolfina are still on top.
But Ellerstina are keeping the memory of their 2016 Hurlingham title alive; they went on to claim the title after losing Tortugas by six goals. is marks the h consecutive Tortugas title for La Dolfina, and a very important milestone for Pablo Mac Donough, who lifted the trophy for the tenth time – only one title away from Alberto Pedro Heguy’s record 11 times.
By David D'Hondt, Buenos Aires

Tortugas Open final teams

La Dofina (+40)
Adolfo Cambiaso (+10)
Pelon Stirling (+10)

Pablo Mac Donough (+10)
Juan Martín Nero (+10)

Ellerstina (+39)
Polito Pieres (+9)
Gonzalo Pieres (+10)
Facundo Pieres (+10)
Nicolás Pieres (+10)

Photo: Team Ellerstina with Juan Martín Nero, Pablo Mac Donough, Pelon Stirling and Adolfo Cambiaso wins again the Tortugas Open

Comments are closed.